eIDAS regulation

The eIDAS regulation is a milestone to provide a predictable regulatory environment to enable secure and seamless electronic interactions between businesses, citizens and public authorities.

Published: 25. Sep 2018, Last modified: 28. Oct 2019

eIDAS (electronic IDentification, Authentication and trust Services) is a legal act on European level setting rules for secure and seamless use of electronic identification and electronic transactions in the European Single Market. It was established in 2014 by EU Regulation 910/2014 and it has been progressively introduced in the whole EU/EEA area. The intent of the regulation is to facilitate secure and seamless use of digital services across the national borders in Europe.

Borderless access to digital services

Under eIDAS, citizens are granted the right to use their national eID to access public services in other countries. The regulation defines the conditions in which states will have to recognize notified eIDs issued in other European countries.

The regulation also defines the legal framework for a selection of supportive electronic services for a common European digital single market - “trust services”. This include among others electronic signatures, time stamps and electronic seals. The latter is technically similar to electronic signatures, however electronic seals serve as evidence that some information was issued by a specific legal entity.

The intent of eIDAS is to push forward cross border interoperability:

  • Member states are required to assure that its national infrastructure can handle eIDs from other member states. I.e. a local service provider can offer citizens from other countries the possibility to authenticate and gain access to services  based on an eID issued in the homeland.
  • The trust service framework provides legal status and quality assurance on European level for facilities required in order that electronic transactions have the same legal status as when conducted on paper.

The eIDAS Regulation is incorporated into Norwegian law, and came into effect on 15 June 2018.